You know it might make more sense if I picked a topic and stuck to it but that never seems to work out well for me ... you know
2003-01-06 - 1:33 p.m.












Random Entry
I�m busier than a one-legged man in an ass kickin� contest

Just one of the many lovely vernacularisms we have in the south.

Isn�t it odd though people tend to notice all the strange and odd things people say everywhere they go but tend not to notice what they say in there own little place in the world

I notice that when I lived out on Cape Cod � everyone say Y�all set

Now if you are from that area you may beg to differ on the first part of that saying but I assure you it does not come out as you all set

Anyway the point of that saying is � do you need anything else, is everything all right, and can I help you with anything all at the same time

Then lets look at carbonated beverages

Depending on where you go

They are

Sodas

Pops

Soda-pops

And if you go far enough South everything is a coke � it doesn�t matter if it is an orange NiHi it�s called a coke

Go figure but if you want something to drink you better know what you are talking about depending on where you go � coffee in NYC isn�t what you think it might be �

Well it is and it isn�t but if you drink it black you better say coffee black or you�ll be getting cream and sugar with that coffee and who knew it would be 5 bucks too

Anyway

So my weekend was fairly uneventful, Doodle�s soccer team won their match by like 9 goals � WOO HOO

No I�m not one of those child sports dads who thinks his kids have to achieve all the things in sport that I wasn�t able to do or live up to some standard set by myself

I see enough of that with other people I know � If she gets fired up about sport then I will be 110% behind her helping her to do what she wants

Right now though she is just having fun and generally has never worried about the final score of the match � I don�t know for sure what the final score was either � I clapped for both teams and sat with the opposing teams parents � which given some of the recent events may be a dangerous thing but I don�t worry about that sort of thing

There weren�t to many fanatical parents at this match � the match before had several dad�s all yelling at their sons from the stands to get the ball be aggressive oh I can�t believe you let �that� kid get the ball by you

�That� kid would be a boy who happened to be skinny and 7 or 8 inches shorter than the boy who should have been able to stop him

Do you think the dad actually pays attention to what he says ???

I would be willing to bet when the kid brings home a bad grade he say what are you stupid.

How do you respond to that �

If you say no

Then the dad says, oh well then you must be lazy

Hmmm how do you win in that stupid or lazy, lazy or stupid, which is the better of the two evils here

Of course kids actually take the time to think how do I answer this

Well then the silence is translated by rant master as something of an attack � Oh you�re too good to answer me � I teach you to listen� well that�s where it generally gets really dark or at least has the ingredients to get really dark

Much wailing and gnashing of teeth sort of thing at this point

Well this is skittering dangerously close to some of my own �conversation� with the units

That was always fun and I�m sure this dad will one day about 15 years from now wonder why his son never calls

Well this is in a very different place than where this started � doodles team won and they all had a really good time

Then one of her friends spent the night

I don�t think there is anything more dangerous in the world then two 10-year-old girls. Well maybe a S.E.A.L. Team but I might still put money on the 10- year-olds

However, I was able to survive the process so what do I reward myself with � oh sure bring in another kid � now I have two kids that are 10 and girls and two kids that are 5 and boys

Yes this is where one might ask me if I had indeed lost my mind

Basically the conversations between the two groups consisted of

Ew Cooties and ICK little boys

Funny how 10-year-old girls will be all starry eyed at someone like Orlando Bloom but take a blond hair 5 year old boy ICK

Of course my job in all of this is the UN � I recognize this as the groups tended to be too close together for too long the rally call for the peace keeping force to come in would ring out

�DAD, MAKE (him or her) STOP IT NOW!!�

Now I must negotiate a peace agreement - this generally takes about a minute � then of course the peace treaty breaks down and new guidelines need to be established

Well it was a good weekend mostly kind of boring dad kid stuff but I like the boring dad kid stuff so it worked out fairly well

The trip is coming 10 more days � I will provide more details later

Well I need to run have fun play nice in the neighborhood

Please vote for me on the Top 100 Diaryland diaries thing and sign something if you are in the neighborhood

Ciao

Listening to: Z101

Wearing: The Work Clothes

Drinking: Coffee

Eating: nada

The Invisible Army

Current Invisible Army Mission: December 2002

Other Invisible Army Missions

November 2002

October 2002

Write me: Don, PO Box 4425, Roanoke, VA 24015

IM me: invisibledon on MSN, invisible980 on AIM

E-mail: [email protected]


� 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012,2013,2014,2015,2016,2017
0 comments so far

The other day :: The next day

Site
Meter [ Registered ] Diaryland home