Ever have a song stick in your head?
2004-09-02 - 11:49 a.m.












Random Entry
People let me tell you 'bout my best friend,

He's a warm hearted person who'll love me till the end.

People let me tell you 'bout my best friend,

He's a one boy cuddly toy, my up, my down, my pride and joy.

People let me tell you 'bout him he's so much fun

Whether we're talkin' man to man or whether we're talking son to son.

Cause he's my best friend.

Yes he's my best friend.

You know as I remember it Bill Bixby as Tom Corbett, in the �Courtship of Eddie�s Father� never had to deal with the same crap I have to deal with in being a dad. I remember thinking when I was a kid man why can�t my life be as cool as that kid Eddie and why can�t my dad be that cool either. Sure I�m dating myself by admitting one I�m old enough to actually remember the show but it also had an impact on me to.

Ever since then at random moments the theme song will pop into my head. It is kind of hokey and all but it says a lot about just being an understanding parent. I know I can�t be my kids� best friends in the sense of the word friend but I can be that person that they will come to talk to when things bother them. I think about that when I try to handle situations when I�m put in to well what it the right thing to do not what is it that my kids want to do. Because I can�t be the �oh sure do what you want� dad and expect that my kids will grow up with any values and respect for other people.

I try not to embarrass my kids that was surely one thing I hated about growing up. The units didn�t care if they made you feel small in front of anyone. I know how that feels and focusing on not the lesson but rather how the hell could they have done that to me. Thus what ever the point of it was, was completely lost.

I say try not to embarrass because being the dad of a tween soon to be full on teen just being in the same block can be embarrassing. Why that is I�m not sure, it�s just one of those things that teens do, asserting their independence from a parent and saying I can do this without my mom or dad being there to help me.

I keep thinking about the things I do when I�m in my non-custodial week without the kids and really the one thing that pops in my head is what I�m going to do with the kids when they come back. I don�t look forward to anything else. I�m not sure what that says about me but I�m sure it says something.

So I may not be the coolest, fastest, trendiest or even the best dad but I try to be a good one.

l gotta run more later, Have a great day and even better tomorrow and play nice in the neighborhood and if you would like you can Clix me here

Ciao

Current Invisible Army Mission: August/September 2004

Write me: Don, PO Box 4425, Roanoke, VA 24015

IM me: invisibledon on MSN, invisible980 on AIM

E-mail: [email protected]

Last IM was from: laural

Last movie watched:

Search engine hit du jour:

Invisibledon

Micro � bikinis � Bikini-Beach


� 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012,2013,2014,2015,2016,2017
0 comments so far

The other day :: The next day

Site
Meter [ Registered ] Diaryland home