It's better to burn out than too fade away
2004-06-03 - 12:07 p.m.












Random Entry
Last week when the dynamic duo were with me one night doodle plops down on the sofa with me and says, �Do you know that the guys who wrote Alice in Wonderland and Peter Pan were high when they came up with the ideas for the stories!�

I said, �Well while Mr. Carrol and Mr. Barrie may have been high it was legal then as opposed to now when it isn�t legal.�

Doodle says, �whatever�

Now this may be an interesting fact as a gee whiz and all that and I can see the value in altered perception to enhance creativity within reason but passing this information on to children who are in the sixth grade. What is the purpose in that? Trying to connect on a familiar level with your students as a teacher? Get better anecdotes is all I have to say to those teachers and if you have to feel you need to connect to your students and bridge the generation gap make or have them make reference to current literature or music but please don�t idolize drug use as a way to make a point.

I�m not saying hide the information but the point is lost on 99.9% of sixth graders that creativity can be inspired in many forms. If that was indeed the point of the teacher, I�ll assume that it was and deny to myself that the teacher is just showing off for the his or her own benefit and trying to be cool.

So I emphasized with doodle that idea saying, �I�m sure you could come up with a unique story without being high�

She asked, �how?�

�well take something to the extreme opposite of what it is like a dog that acts like a cat or having a cat named mouse those are creative and unexpected it captures the imagination then build on the first idea.�

She said �yeah I see� then started rambling on about a horror story. I don�t mind that she watches those things because I was a big fan of horror at her age and grew out of it because 90% of most horror and the macabre are just plain bad. She freaks out a bit about �IT� but I didn�t allow her to watch that one I told her the book was much better than the movie but I don�t think she�ll read it for awhile.

Stunt-boy is doing well too, we don�t have nearly the stimulating conversation that doodle and I have. Most of our conversations revolve around him wanting to play and we do. Play out side, play memory, play Othello ( he almost kiss my ass at this game)and playing uno or video games and we read books together. Stunt boy really enjoys having the dog now too. The dog weighs about as much as he does or a bit more but he walks around with her like man check me out I have a really cool dog.

Then when Sunday rolled around it was time to take the kids back to CPG�s house. I hate that time of the week. Well we get to her house, I think she might be afraid of the dog. The kids go up, the door is locked. Knock, no answer, ring the bell no answer. Finally they call on my phone � she is asleep at 4 pm on a Sunday � I�m like good lord � well I�m sure the rest of the day was being all quiet for them so as not to bother �mommy and her hangover�

Then I was putting things away and going through some files at the house trying to make sense out of my budget and all the MAN SHOW is on in the back ground. I know deep stuff there. But they are in an old folks home and are interviewing some older guys and talking about sex and it hit me, I do not want to live that long. I don�t want to live to an age where the only thing I have to look forward too is tapioca and daytime TV. The thing is I would be happier to die younger than to live in that kind of hell. Day in day out being too frail to venture out alone or incontinent and the indignity that you would feel. Yet here were young people basically making fun with as much as making fun of older people � with out the inclination that you know this will be you in a matter of time. And time flies swiftly more swiftly than we would like unless you are driving behind someone who is doing 15mph under the speed limit.

Still working on the reform thing and June mission coming soon. Well that�s all for now folks more later, I�m sure, If you haven�t already done the May 2004 invisible army mission it is easy and I would be extremely happy if you did complete it. June mission coming soon.

I need to run have a great day and even better tomorrow and play nice in the neighborhood and if you would like you can vote for me here, a 10 would be great but what ever you think is best thanks a ton. Or Clix me

Ciao

Wearing: Black pull over, khakis, black sketchers, blue NYPD t-shirt, Black boxer briefs, Black socks, black cord necklace, two silver rings one on each hand, silver watch and two silver earrings left ear.

Drinking: Coffee

Eating: nothing

Current Invisible Army Mission: May 2004

Write me: Don, PO Box 4425, Roanoke, VA 24015

IM me: invisibledon on MSN, invisible980 on AIM

E-mail: [email protected]

Favorite local band: StarCity Wildcats

Significant 0thers .

Song lyrics:

Motto: Cowboy up, muth@ F*@&*%

Quote:

It is hard to believe that a man is telling the truth when you know that you would lie if you were in his place.

Last night I slept for: 5 hours

Last IM was from: lauralgood

Last movie watched: Signs

Search engine hit du jour:

Invisibledon I�m so popular

Micro � bikinis � Bikini-Beach


� 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012,2013,2014,2015,2016,2017
0 comments so far

The other day :: The next day

Site
Meter [ Registered ] Diaryland home